top of page

Comrades of Athens Fashion

What your favorite part of the design process?

I love the initial stages of designing the most. Searching for fabrics in unconventional places and then allowing those fabrics to speak out and tell me what they hope to become is by far the most enjoyable part of the entire design process.

How would you relate past & present fashion trends?

Fashion is a constantly revolving thing. It is an ever-changing moving piece that draws from past inspirations with the hope of bringing fresh, new twists into the equation. It is one reason I personally LOVE working with vintage redesigns—there is already an intricate story at play in each thrifted piece and I have this chance to go in and breathe new life into a forgotten piece, thereby giving it a new story line to follow.

Where are you now? Can you describe the environment that surrounds you as you are answering these questions?

I am at home, lounging on my couch with the windows open soaking in the wonderful summer breeze.

How did you get started sewing & designing?

I got started in sewing and designing when I was really young. I am from Louisiana and schools in my part of town were always uniform only type schools. I did not have much of an opportunity to wear fun or cray things except on the weekends. One weekend, I decided I wanted a new tennis skirt (they were my favorite thing to purchase at goodwill!), but we did not have much money. So, I crawled up into my mom’s attic and found the coolest orange and floral printed fabric. I spent some time studying an already made skirt from my closet and then just decided to jump in an attempt to make myself one from this really rad piece of scrap material. By the end of the day, I had a new skirt that I loved and a new hobby that would soon take over my entire life.

What are your design & Artistic inspirations?

I always have been and always will be inspired by nature in the spring. The way the wind moves, the smell of fresh flowers blooming, and—if I am lucky to be in the area—the feeling of ocean waves crashing around the beach. These are the most calming things I have found throughout my life and they inspire me to create each and every time I witness them. Plus, with spring, I enjoy the unspoken sentiment of new beginnings.

Who would you like to see wearing your clothes? Do you have any style icons?

I would love to see women from all walks of life wearing my clothing! I am always so excited to meet the women who shop my collections and get to know them on a more persona level. It is so interesting and inspiring to hear their stories and ambitions. They are the ones who keep me going when I feel like giving up.

Would you share any of your favorite sustainable tips?

Oh man, there are so many! A few of my favorites are:

  1. Buy less, buy well made

  2. Bring reusable grocery bags with you

  3. Purchase local as often as you can to cut down on emissions associated with shipping + to help support your local makers

  4. Turn off the lights in any room you aren’t using

  5. Wash in cold water- it gets your clothing just as clean plus it will help them last longer AND cut down on your energy bill

  6. Air dry clothing when you can

  7. Unplug items when you aren’t using them

These are the just ones I can think of off the top of my head!

Where do you see the fashion industry heading?

There is definitely a huge shift we are seeing in fashion towards more transparency, sustainability, and locally made goods. People are jumping on board the eco-train now, just as we saw happen in the food industry, and it really excites me to see this mentality shift! The more questions we ask the brands we frequent, the more open the conversation is becoming towards a sustainable future.

Describe your morning routine: What does a typical day look like for you?

I wish I had a better morning routine than I currently do! Sometimes, if I don’t sleep well, my entire next day is off, so I’ll just describe my ideal morning routine.

I would get up at around 7/7:30 to put on a pot of coffee and jump in the shower. Once out of the shower, I would pour myself some coffee, head outside with a book, and read for an hour or so. When I am done reading, I would come inside and clean the kitchen before practicing a little yoga. Once all of that was done, I would jump into my workday feeling refreshed and energized!

How do you feel events such as the Repurposing Project help to highlight sustainable fashion and its many possibilities?

I feel like the Repurposing Project is the perfect event to highlight the many possibilities of sustainable fashion simply because it shows what you can do with clothing that is literally viewed as “trash” by others. This project highlights how small changes can make a drastic impact on what we currently have in our closets.

Describe your experience working with the Repurposing Project last year.

I loved working with the Repurposing Project last year! It was so exciting to see all the different artists in our area come together to put on such a fabulous display of talent! I met so many new friends an learned a bunch of cool design techniques and ideas by being a part of the event. I am excited to be coming back to the event this year as a behind-the-scenes person because I am incredibly passionate about displaying the talent that Athens has to offer.

What is your favorite part of being involved in the local fashion scene?

The comradery. Everyone in the local fashion scene seems to know everyone else and they are all open to lending a helping hand where needed. It’s incredibly inspiring to be around that kind of energy.


bottom of page