top of page

For the Love of Wild Colors + Bubbly Textures

Local Artist, Model, Mother and Owner of Maggie Seee, Maggie Couch sits down to chat with us a little about her design process and living life as an artist.

Repurposing Project (RP) What your favorite part of the design process?

Maggie Couch (MC) The Repurposing Project's first year was a huge push in my sewing abilities. The second year I had SO much fun expanding on that part. I think the actual, with my hands, stitching part is my favorite.

(RP) How would you relate past & present fashion trends?

(MC) I think there's always some element of a cycle. When I was in middle and high school, I was recreating trends my mom wore, ironing peace sign patches on flared jeans. Now, I see all of that returning again, but the extra flavor of the 90s have been added, and it's just beautiful to watch. I love the evolution of fashion, but taking time to notice the recurring themes.

(RP) Where are you now? Can you describe the environment that surrounds you as you are answering these questions?

(MC) I'm currently sitting on my bed. My dog is in front of me and Netflix is on, with... (dun dun dun) a documentary tv show called Highway Thru Hell about towing big trucks in Canada. 😂

It's been a long week. Husband has been on tour. Kids got sick. I'm taking an early bed time.

(RP) How did you get started sewing & designing?

(MC) I went to Disney World when I was five, and used the back of my autograph book to design new waitress uniforms. That turned into using a stapler to make a skirt. And eventually I was altering and tweaking most of the pieces in my Dress Up Clothes bin. I didn't alter ALL of them though, because I had some really unique things also.

(RP) What are your design & Artistic inspirations?

(MC) I feel like this has been a struggle to nail down, honestly. I've always loved learning new things and techniques and ways to create... so i inspire to be a student forever and to never really feel like a master. I never want to stop learning.

As far as what I'm inspired BY...

I'm inspired by juxtaposition and wild colors and bubbly textures.

(RP) What do you think about the production of fashion in China today? Will other designers be inspired to get into sustainable production in the short term, or do you think China has to go through the same cycle as western countries have in the 20th century?

(MC) I think conditions are deplorable and that the general public doesn't have enough education around it. People seem to be conditioned to need, need, need to get new and fast fashion, without even understanding where it came from. I've found that most people don't realize paying $3 for a shirt at target means it'll last maybe 3 washes before there are holes. Most people don't realize you can find amazing items at a thrift store if you take the time to look.

(RP) Who would you like to see wearing your clothes? Do you have any style icons?

(MC) I would like to see women like me wearing my clothes. Some days I want bright colors. Some days I want all black. But I always want to feel comfortable and confident. I've always found Angelina Jolie's style to be pretty amazing.

(RP) Would you share any of your favorite sustainable tips?

(MC) I'm just really into thrifting, and either wearing as-is, or re-working/tweaking something to fit me better.

(RP) Where do you see the fashion industry heading?

(MC) I think this is going to be a big form of expression over the next four years (or however long this presidency lasts/also whoever fills in after impeachment?). People need art. The fashion industry is one of the most prevalent avenues to express the collective ideas that we're trying to preserve. I think the trends are going to follow the people, and the people are going green, sustainable, and renewable.

(RP) What is your favorite quote?

(MC) Out of all the quotes ever? That's so hard!

But one I've been thinking a lot about is from a speech by Nina Turner, and she's quoting her grandmother. She changes how she words it some for each speech, so there's not one concrete place to copy and paste it from. But here's one:

"She said all you need are the three bones: the wishbone, the jawbone, and the backbone. The wishbone would keep you hoping and praying because hope is the motivator, but the dream is the driver. The jawbone will give you courage to speak truth to power, lift your voice — it should matter that you're in the room, that you're in that space with that voice. The backbone ... will give you courage to stand through all of your trials and tribulations."

(RP) Describe your morning routine: What does a typical day look like for you?

(MC) I hit the snooze button until 6:45 and then I get an 8 year old and a 3.5 year old up and ready and to school by 7:20 & 7:30 (two different schools). Then I'm home alone until the little one gets off the bus at 11:00. In that time, I'm either painting or sewing something.

(RP) How do you feel events such as the Repurposing Project help to highlight sustainable fashion and its many possibilities?

(MC) Oh, this stuff has a huge hand in the awareness! People are fascinated by the idea of the Repurposing Project. It's fun, it gets attention, but it really drives home the fact that these clothes came from clothes that would have otherwise just been discarded and become waste eventually.

(RP) Describe your experience working with the Repurposing Project last year.

(MC) I had a great time. I thought it was a lot smoother at the Georgia Theater than it was at Cine. The Cine show was great too, there was just more room at the Georgia Theater. I thought the day-of went smooth. The models all looked awesome. I had a blast.

(RP) What is your favorite part of being involved in the local fashion scene?

(MC) I feel like a tiny fish in a huge pond, because our town is literally oozing with awesome fashion. We have some seriously talented minds here. But my favorite part, as far as my own experiences have gone, is how SUPPORTIVE everyone is of each other. It's not a gritty competition. It's a down and dirty love fest. And I think that's so important.

(RP) Is there anything else that you would like to share with us?

(MC) I'm just SO excited that this is happening again. I was really worried that it was over, but I knew better. So thanks for keeping it alive, y'all!

bottom of page